Content Skip to content.
Office of the President

Shared Governance

About Shared Governance

SDSU governing bodies include the Office of the President, Associated Students and the University Senate.

Moreover, each member of the SDSU community, be it faculty, staff or student, shares responsibility for reaching collective decisions on matters of policy and procedure.

University Senate

The University Senate, comprised of faculty, staff and students, considers a wide range or issues, including:

  • Academic policy, including admissions, curricula, and criteria for the granting of degrees
  • Advising the president in the selection of administrative personnel

More information about the University Senate is available at the senate website.

SDSU Senate Officers 2011-12

William Snavely

Cathie Atkins
Vice Chair

Suzanne Bordelon

Allison Bobrow
Administrative Support Coordinator

Associated Students

Associated Students creates, promotes and funds social, recreational, cultural and educational programs and facilities.

The student-directed organization advocates for student interests, provides leadership opportunities and participates in the university's shared governance.

More information about Associated students is available at

Executive Officers 2011-12

Cody Barbo

Darin Ruiz
Executive Vice President

Krista Parker
Vice President of External Affairs

Rob O'Keefe
Vice President of Finance

Mina Azim
Vice President of University Affairs