Aztecs wrap up another banner year in 2023-24

The Aztecs captured six MW titles in the 2023-24 campaign

Monday, June 24, 2024
Fowler Athletic Center building
Fowler Athletic Center

For a third straight year, San Diego State had the most Mountain West championships. The Aztecs captured six MW titles in the 2023-24 campaign, including a women's soccer regular-season championship in the fall, a swimming & diving title in the winter, and in the spring two league championships by softball (regular season and tournament), a tournament championship by women's tennis and a men's golf title.
SDSU, which also had league-high six championships in 2022-23 and five in 2021-22, have 96 overall MW titles, the most in the history of the league among sports San Diego State competes in. The six MW championships in sports that the Aztecs compete in match the most in the conference since SDSU had seven during the 2014-15 campaign.
Nationally, San Diego State still has the best combined football and men's basketball records since the start of the 2010 football season, going a combined 482-180 for a 72.8 winning percentage. Rounding out the top 10 behind SDSU are Ohio State (.725), Oregon (.712), Duke (.705), Alabama (.692), Wisconsin (.690), Arizona (.689), Kentucky (.688), Michigan State (.684) and Cincinnati (.682).
The women's soccer team started out San Diego State's successful season by capturing its seventh MW regular-season title, going 9-1-1 in conference play and 14-3-3 overall. It was the Aztecs' 12th overall MW championship, including seven regular-season titles and five tournament wins.
The swimming & diving team then secured its third consecutive league title and fifth in the last six years by winning the 2024 MW Championships in Houston in February. SDSU finished with a conference-record 1,487.50 team points, claiming 11 event titles, including seven individual crowns and four of five relays at the meet.
The women's tennis team was the next San Diego State program to claim a title after beating host UNLV, 4-2, in the MW Championship on April 27. The Aztecs lost the doubles point, but won four of the five singles points, and were up in the other singles event before clinching the win. It was SDSU's second tournament championship in three years.
The San Diego State men's golf team, meanwhile, won its third consecutive MW Championship, pulling even with New Mexico in regulation at 11-under-par 853 and then defeating the Lobos in a playoff. It was the sixth MW tournament championship for the Aztecs.
The softball team finished off SDSU's championship campaign by winning both the regular-season title and the conference tournament for a second straight year. San Diego State has a league-record nine regular-season titles and two tournament championships.
The Aztecs also had four MW athletes of the year in Mac Barbara (softball co-player of the year), Denise Castro (women's soccer offensive player of the year), Yasmine Kabbaj (women's tennis player of the year) and Alex Roberts (swimmer of the year), while three coaches - Stacey Nuveman Deniz (softball), Roland McDonald (diving) and Mike Shrader (swimming) - received conference coach-of-the-year recognition.

Categorized As